Set to Fly

I could feel my legs shaking
as I stood there in a dark corner
surrounded by silence
holding my pieces together
curling my toes harder
to clutch the ground
for a firmer grip
as to be fallen was not an option
and to shatter was beyond question
all I needed was a moment with self
to yet again get hold of my life
which I had since long
left in deep denial

can’t believe
how utterly consumed I was
by something so futile
that I could so easily forget
the worth of my own being

time had almost gone still by now
as eerie thoughts rampaged my mind
and I found myself almost in shambles
with no way out for any respite

so I go on to close my weary eyes
in an attempt to see if I could find
some solace in ever lingering pain
of piles of wound that I had imbibed
and I shook my blemished frame a bit
and stirred my patchy battered soul
to shed off the weight of dry flakes
from rotting skin and decaying hope

while I could feel my nerves throbbing really hard
and the rush of blood going down my spine
but I was yet to make myself truly believe
that I had survived the brutal assaults of life
so I placed my hand close to my heart
and gave my breaths a little miss for a while
and as I fluttered to gasp for some air within
I knew I was alive and all set to fly.

-Chhaya

44 thoughts on “Set to Fly

Add yours

    1. Aww dear….you just made my heart sing by your lovely comment ! That’s very kind of you to shower such generous words of appreciation for my work. I truly value it and hope that I keep writing up to your expectations. Thanks again ! 😊

      Much love !
      Chhaya
      💓💓💓

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel humbled to the core by your kind words. This means a lot to me. I truly appreciate the time you take to read and comment on my poems and I hope you continue to enjoy my work in the future as well. 😊

      You are an amazing writer and I look forward to reading more from you.

      Thanks so much dear friend !

      Cheers !
      Chhaya

      Like

  1. This piece of work looks so emotional…can feel every sense and restlessness you were conveying through words… great work! Do check my work too, pretty new here but hope to travel long… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much dear friend ! I am glad you enjoyed my work. You write beautifully and I look forward to reading more from you. 😊

      My very best to you for everything !

      Cheers and happy writing !

      Chhaya

      Like

  2. Wow. What an amazing piece! Love these lines –

    as to be fallen was not an option
    and to shatter was beyond question
    all I needed was a moment with self
    to yet again get hold of my life
    which I had since long
    left in deep denial

    ♥️♥️♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Is there a book, yet? Cause this needs to be read by me at home in my comfy spot with my cat and an always full glass of wine. Where’s the book? Gracious!

    The part where your body decayed and flaked due to neglect is so powerfully expressed. When we ignore ourselves then return to reality, sometimes we are shocked by how much was neglected and overlooked. It isn’t apparent until later the full scope of self neglect.

    Love the line, “gave my breaths a little miss”

    cat. wine, paper back fine reading. soon???

    Faith

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww…you made my heart sing with this lovely comment, Faith ! I am deeply touched and humbled. The way you read my poems with so much love and the way you absorb and reflect the essence of them all is something that I truly value. I do not have a book yet, but if I ever have one, I would love to gift a copy of it to you.

      Much love !
      Chhaya
      💓💓💓

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

