Don’t Read My Poems

These poems
which I write to you
are not just meant
to be read with the eyes
or recited with the lips
for these gestures
so superficial
and transient
would only be
a disgrace
to these nascent
ethereal verses
of love and longing
waiting fervently
to be turned
into eternal poems

So don’t just read them
hold them in your hands
as close to your chest
as the beats of your heart
and let the verses melt
slowly in the balmy warmth
of your mellow palms
and then drench yourself
in this tepid syrup
so it be absorbed
by every pore
of your skin
and let yourself loose
to sink into the depth of
those aqueous words
to soak your heart
and your soul
in the fluidic expressions
of deep yearning
and desire
which they carry
within them

And when you would have
fully submerged
in the boundless depths
of those serene verses
these nascent poems
which I write to you
would also evolve into
eternal pieces of
marvellous poetry.

-Chhaya

61 thoughts on “Don’t Read My Poems

Add yours

        1. Thanks Yassy ! I am glad this touched your heart so deeply. After all, that’s what we all write for and that’s what a poem is supposed to do….reach people’s heart ! But please don’t cry.
          Much love !!

          Liked by 1 person

  1. This is love ❀

    And when you would have
    fully submerged
    in the boundless depths
    of those serene verses
    these nascent poems
    which I write to you
    would also evolve into
    eternal pieces of
    marvellous poetry.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Heyy Chy….it’s lovely to hear from you after a long time ! I am sure you had a fantastic trip of Europe. I am certainly going to take out time to read your latest posts. Get over the jet lag soon darling !
      Much love !! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Chris….thanks so much for sparing time to read my poems and for being so kind enough to like and comment on them. I am glad you made a visit to my blog and decided to follow. Your writings are amazing and I look forward to reading more from you.

      Thanks again and happy writing !

      Cheers !!
      Chhaya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Sangbad (btw, your name reminds me of Sindabad, the sailor…haha..!! What does Sangbad mean ? Just asking out of curiosity )

      I am so glad you stopped by my blog and took out time to read my poem. Thank you so much for your generous words of praise…I am deeply humbled !

      I took a glance of your blog…and what variety of writings you do man ? I very much look forward to reading your posts.

      Thanks again and I hope you would visit my little world again !

      Cheers !!
      Chhaya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sindbad is my another name/ I travel on sea/not of water/but of thoughts/following you to read more of you/will read the posted soon…
        Sangbad means News…thanks for the appreciation…expect your comments on my posts…

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Korede, I am so glad you took out time to read the poem and could feel its essence. Thanks so much for your kind words and for the follow !

      I took a quick glimpse of your blog and I must tell you that you write beautifully and I look forward to reading more of your work.

      Please do keep visiting !

      Cheers !!
      Chhaya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this thanks so much for sharing, it reminds me of a quote by Janet Fitch: β€œAlways learn poems by heart. They have to become the marrow in your bones. Like fluoride in the water, they’ll make your soul impervious to the world’s soft decay.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Beth, these are such powerful lines, thabks so much sharing them. I am glad you took time to stop by my blog and read my poem. Thanks for the like and the follow. I took some time to glance through your blog and found it really interesting. I look forward to reading more from you.

      Please do keep visiting my little world ! Until next….happy writing and my very best to you for all your endeavours !

      Much love,
      Chhaya ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. Definitely, I enjoyed visiting your corner of the internet as well! I am really interested in following and reading more of your work.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

