A Generous Stranger

If we cross each other someday
in a crowded market street
don’t just pass by like a stranger
who has nothing to give
except for a glance
or may be a frigid smile
no, you can’t be that empty
you never were !

pass by
like that silent breeze
of cold air on a chilly night
which never goes by
without leaving goosebumps
on even the most concealed skin

drop me some heartbeats
yes, they are still
my favourite music
I swear I will pick them up
before they touch the ground
and the beats burst
like delicate soap bubbles
without making any sound

leave me a few verses
hummed softly into the air
to keep them floating
only for my lips to catch them
and sing them later on
in my solitude

and if you are still as generous
leave behind
that musky fragrance
of your body
which I will quickly inhale
and merge with my breath
to create that inciting mixture
which numbs my body and mind

Not a single glance
and not a single smile
just leave me these
little fragments of you
while you cross me by
and we will continue to remain
complete strangers
like we had never been together.

-Chhaya

57 thoughts on “A Generous Stranger

Add yours

    1. Jeni, thanks so much for your kind words. How wonderful it is to know that you could feel what was meant to be felt of this poem. I am so glad you liked it. Thanks for taking out time to read and comment ! I am loving your six words series by the way πŸ™‚

      Much love,
      Chhaya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You write beautifully. I love your writings.may be I’ll try putting this story in six words and dedicate it to you. Thank you for the comment. I couldn’t reply to you as I made some changes to the post.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Being a stranger to someone who meant something to you someday canbe very difficult. I have come across various such narratives where a person doesn’t want to get back to someone she or he loved, but doesn’t even want to forget..You have put this into beautiful words….loved the last para-

    Not a single glance
    and not a single smile
    just leave me these
    little fragments of you
    while you cross me by
    and we will continue to remain
    complete strangers
    like we had never been together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Payal…thanks so much ! I am extremely sorry for not been able to respond to your mail. I have been very occupied with some crucial commitments on workfront and have been struggling to meet the deadlines. But be assured, I have seen your mail and would reply as soon as I get a little time from my work. I am sorry to keep you waiting. Thanks for the patience Payal !

      Love,
      Chhaya πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

